The Game is On!!!

::Sounds of Typewriters clacking, shoes rushing the floor, doors slamming::

Oh the flurry and commotion at the foreign office today!! I’m out of the country office and in our bunker down below the streets of London heading up a small branch of a secret global organization. What we’re exactly doing, I can’t say. But what I can share is the outreach effort of our branch plus hundreds of others around the world. HUNDREDS.

 

Intro, the Dewey’s Readathon + Geeky Blogger Twist!

As I sit here typing, trying to keep my thoughts straight –“stop that shouting! Who is shouting!?” I’m super excited to be involved with a world literacy effort in memory of Dewey. I’ve got a pile of books TBR and a delicious breakfast smuggled in to me from a local bakery up top.

The charity I’m reading for is Read Out and Read, an “evidence-based nonprofit organization of medical providers who promote early literacy and school readiness in pediatric exam rooms nationwide by giving new books to children and advice to parents about the importance of reading aloud”.

Because boy howdy, do I believe in parents reading with their children.

As is usual in my life, I’m about 2-4 weeks behind everyone else (hence the scramble happening here. “Stop that racket!”) so I’m desperately re-arranging our schedule to read as much as possible today/get the word out.

“Where are my books? The books! Where are they?”:: Mad scramble ensues as I turn back to the keyboard::

As it is, I’m donating $2.50 for every 30 minutes I read. Beginning with the marvelous Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles (as Marissa is also donating $ for every one of her books read). In addition to $1.00 for every blog comment on this post and .25 cents for every re-tweet of any #readathon tweet I ..tweet. Hmm. You get the idea.

Ahhhh! This just in: the super secret list of incredibly helpful links:

Get Started HERE (Marissa Meyer’s blog post)
Read Felicia’s How-to HERE
My twitter (.25 cents/tweet!) HERE
Readathon Twitter HERE
Hashtags: #readathon #rahrahreadathon #dewey

Band with me readers! As we take the world by storm one book at a time!

Why are you still here?! Go! Read!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Then come back and tell me 1. What you’re reading 2. What charity you’re reading for (if you are) or 3. Your favorite book of all time!!

 

4 thoughts on “The Game is On!!!

Leave a Reply

